Series Review: Seasons of the Heart

8 Aug

I’m sure you know by now that I enjoy Janette Oke’s novels – Roses for Mama   being one of my favorites. Recently I was wanting a light read (I believe it was while I was in the midst of Hero of Ages – yes, that review is coming next week!) and pulled the first of this series off the shelf. I don’t remember the last time I read this series although I’m guessing it’s been more than five years.


Janette Oke changed up her normal style with this series. It’s written in first person – and the main character is a young boy. Joshua Jones has been raised by his Aunt Lou, Grandpa and Uncle Charlie. The series follows his growing up – in faith, age and love – as times change and they live through the Great Depression. Each book is absolutely delightful. The situations make you alternately laugh out loud, sniff a little and sigh happily.

By the end of the series, I want to stay up late with Grandpa and Uncle Charlie while they drink coffee, go fishing with Gramps, go on a sleigh ride and sit and sip tea with Aunt Lou.


Check out the books on Goodreads


My collection of Oke’s books

I believe I first read this series as a young teen – possibly even a pre-teen – so can definitely recommend them for younger readers as well! Oke fills her books with good theology and I am always convicted about how I am living out my own faith, when I read her stories. This series is a must read!

~Tip : If you like Lori Wick or Beverly Lewis, you’ll like Janette Oke!

~I was searching through past book reviews in the midst of writing this one (score one for me for getting distracted!) when I skimmed through this review and knew I had to share it again! I have actually been wanting to read several of these books again too. 

~While covering different genres, I do not read anything that has blatant sexual content. I will tell you if there is any sort of such (typically very mild and delicately put) in them and if I don’t think they’d be appropriate for young/teenage readers.

Happy Reading, Laura

6 Responses to “Series Review: Seasons of the Heart”

  1. Darlene Mom August 8, 2017 at 4:31 pm #

    I believe it was Aunt Opal who introduced us to Janette Oke. Really like her books and how she brings faith and real life struggles together. I still think Clark and Marty is my favorite series tho.


    • Laura August 9, 2017 at 10:27 am #

      I think it was Auntie Opal too! I am planning on reading that series this year too – it’s been too many years since I read it!


  2. Darlene Mom August 8, 2017 at 4:33 pm #

    P.S. love the cover pic. That bird is really cute. 😉


    • Laura August 9, 2017 at 10:28 am #

      I knew you’d like it. The bird was happy to pose for me =)



  1. Book Review – August 2017 | the start of a good life - September 1, 2017

    […] Series Review: Seasons of the Heart […]


  2. Love Comes Softly Series Review | the start of a good life - May 9, 2019

    […] Seasons of the Heart […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

A Musing Maverick

Ilse Davison

Elaine Howlin

lost in the pages of books

See Jayne Run

Navigating with Chronic Illness in a Self Absorbed World

1 Write Way

Places where you can find my writing, knitting, photographs, and cat collection.

%d bloggers like this: