Series Review – Deep Haven

11 Apr

You know when you sit down to write a post and then you just do not like how it’s turning out? Sigh. That was me yesterday. So, I’m starting fresh and giving you a review on a series by Susan May Warren.


(random insert here, puppy Abby is learning the sad truth that if she plays in the water, she has to stay outside til she’s dry-ish. Her sad puppy eyes staring at me through the sliding door are awfully pathetic right now)

Yet again, this is a series that I have enjoyed for years – but just the other week I learned that this is only half of it! There are 3 more books just waiting for me to read! ahaha, such wonderful news this is!

I will admit that the first book is my favorite of the three. The first reason being simply because it involves a bookstore. Happy, contented sigh.

~Happily Ever After – Mona Reynold’s  dream of opening her own bookstore and coffee shop is about to come true. With the help of her friend and a handyman that leaves her breathless, she races to fix the old Victorian house up in time for opening day. But when disaster strikes, her faith gets shaken and she turns to her handyman for help. Both will learn of God’s forgiveness and overwhelming love – and that His plans for them are far better than any they had.

~Tying the Knot – Anne Lundstrom was an EMT in Minnapolis when her life got ripped apart. She escapes to quiet Deep Haven, eager to start over and forget the pain of her past. What she doesn’t expect, or want, is to spend the summer at Noah Standing-Bear’s camp for inner-city kids. She’s torn in two directions, wanting to run as fast as she can from the daily reminders of her past, and drawn in by Noah’s charm.

~The Perfect Match – Firefighting is a man’s job – is exactly the thinking that Ellie Karlson has been fighting for fifteen years. Fighting for respect and a chance to prove herself. So when she’s given the interim fire chief position for the small town of Deep Haven, she’s determined to lead the crew and whip them into shape. Soon it becomes apparent that there’s an arsonist in town and she wonders if she’s the cause. The one fire she can’t fight is the one that Pastor Dan Matthews has set in her heart, and she’s not entirely sure she wants to.

Each novel, I feel, focuses on a different attribute of God, which I always appreciate in a series. It makes me think past the story of these characters and into how I feel/believe. I can highly recommend these three novels!

Happy Reading,


Did I mention my OH got me THIS for my birthday?!?!?!


5 Responses to “Series Review – Deep Haven”

  1. Bethany Lotulelei April 11, 2016 at 2:08 pm #

    What a fun series! I am going to have to look for these books at our local library. I have been trying to get back in the habit of reading more. Thanks for the inspiration!


    • booksnbakery April 11, 2016 at 4:26 pm #

      These would be perfect then- they are engaging but you can read them in a doctor’s office (i.e. distractions) unlike some where you’ve simply got to focus only on the story. Enjoy! and thanks for coming by and commenting


  2. Bethany April 11, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

    What a great looking series! I am going to have to look for these books at our local library. 🙂 I have been trying to read more books. Thanks for the inspiration!


    • Laura May 29, 2020 at 11:03 am #

      I’ve just seen this! Yikes! Sorry – but did you ever look up the Deep Haven series?!



  1. My Top-15 Favorite books 2016 | the start of a good life - December 16, 2016

    […] Happily Ever After by Susan May Warren […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

A Musing Maverick

Ilse Davison

Elaine Howlin

lost in the pages of books

See Jayne Run

Navigating with Chronic Illness in a Self Absorbed World

1 Write Way

Places where you can find my writing, knitting, photographs, and cat collection.

%d bloggers like this: